Hello!

Hi everybody!

Welcome to my dessert blog, where I hope to share some of my dessert projects. I have been lurking on other food blogs for nearly 2 1/2 years now, so I guess it’s finally time for me to jump on the bandwagon and start one of my own. I hope you enjoy what I have to share…this is what I love to do and I recently discovered how much more I enjoy it when I share with others! (Turns out that my kindergarten teacher was right!) I welcome all feedback; in fact, I would love to hear what y’all think. 

I have not been great about documenting my projects in the past, but I am hoping with this blog, I will get better. I also apologize for the quality of my pictures. This blog is also an excuse to practice my non-existent photography skills. So without further ado…cupcake tray

These are some cupcakes that I made for a co-worker’s birthday. They are EXTREMELY vanilla. Vanilla cake. Vanilla buttercream. Nevertheless, they seemed well received. I kept a few at home and filled them with raspberry jam, which completely freaked out my husband. Apparently, he bit into one and thought it had gone bad or something.

..IMG_2823

The flowers and stars are made from a 50/50 mixture of gumpaste and fondant. The yellow stars are actually leftover from a dessert buffet that I did for a party (I would love to do a post on that, but it requires me getting the pictures from my mom’s friend. Long story. Hopefully, a future post.) If i could do them over,  I would probably punch up the pink on the flowers. I think it looks a bit monochromatic.

IMG_2800IMG_2799

I have also been attempting to teach myself how to do other sugar flowers. Here are my first attempts at a rose:

IMG_2812IMG_2814

Not too shabby, eh? I thought it was pretty okay, considering I don’t have petal cutters and cut all the petals free hand. I’m saving my pennies to buy some petal dust to enhance it even more.

So that’s all for now…thanks for reading!

5 responses to “Hello!

  1. your cupcakes look awesome!
    next thanksgiving, we should taste some!

    chef jeff
    (friend and co-chef with ray jang)

  2. am i the first to comment? what an honor!
    great pics.

    let me know if you ever need an apprentice.. 🙂

  3. wow!!! i think they look fabulous! so fancy!

  4. I’m strangely excited about this blog. Maybe it’s because I actually get to eat some of this stuff, right??

  5. I am loving your blog! I read a lot of the same blogs as you do…like I said before…let’s have a baking party! Even if it is just for you and me 🙂

Leave a Reply

