Present Cake

One of the things I want to practice more is covering cakes in fondant. I love constructing cakes, but I really don’t get the opportunity to do it very often. I feel pretty comfortable stacking and filling layers, but I gotta say, I could definitely use more practice with fondant. I’m always a little frustrated with my results, which may be the reason I haven’t been good at documenting them – too embarrassed. But when I decided to make a cake for my friend’s birthday, I committed to take pictures no matter how strange my final product.

So here we go…

A few days before I started the cake, I made the sugar decorations. I decided I wanted to try a present cake. I’ve attempted a couple in the past with minimal success, but I am determined to do it better. So here’s the bow I made:

IMG_2992

And then, obviously, I made the cake part. First, cake flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder and salt.

IMG_3024

Then cream the sugar and butter…

IMG_3031_2

Add egg whites, vanilla, and bake…yada, yada, yada…and you have cake!

 

IMG_3032

Now my favorite part! Stacking and filling the layers! A buttercream dam to prevent leakage:

IMG_3039_2

Then filled with mango curd (made the day before) and repeat until you have this:

IMG_3043_2

Then cover it in buttercream – it hides a multitude of sins. I just had weird visual of buttercream literally hiding sins. 

IMG_3044

I made the fondant and colored it the day before…I was kinda worried about covering the cake. I’ve never done a square cake before and I’ve been reading that it is much more difficult than a round cake. So this is what I ended up with:

IMG_3045_2

A little lumpy and bubbly. I wonder how much of it has to do with the fondant I made and how much of it is user error? I also could not figure out why it is so shiney! Gah! Then I added the accoutrements, hoping to hide some of the flaws. Somewhat successful.

IMG_3047_2

So what did I learn? I think having the proper tools to work with fondant would make a difference. I’m sorta flying by the seat of my pants and just using what I have around. I also think letting the fondant come to room temperature before I started manhandling it might have reduced some of the bubbles.

What do you guys think?

3 responses to “Present Cake

  1. I think you’re awesome! I love the color of the cake too.

  2. a present?? for moi?? I think it turned out great!

  3. Wow, that looks like a great cake. I bet you it’s super delicious too! Your friend must be a super awesome person for you to bake a cake like that for her. 😉

Leave a Reply

