Oatmeal cookies 2 ways

It’s been awhile since I made a simple, homey treat. Looking back over the blog, I realized that recently I’ve been making a lot of fancier-looking stuff. Now that’s all good and fine – I get a lot of enjoyment in working on tiny details and making things look nice, but sometimes the prettiest looking thing is a nice, chunky, homey cookie. So when my husband asked for oatmeal cookies, I was more than happy to oblige.

It seems that the most common oatmeal cookie is the oatmeal raisin cookie. For years, I thought oatmeal cookies were “mom” cookies. Growing up, it seemed that the only cookie my mother would eat on a regular basis was oatmeal raisin. I don’t really remember seeing her eat chocolate chip cookies, sugar cookies, peanut butter or anything else (even though these cookies were around A LOT since I was always baking as a kid). So somehow I got it into my head that moms only ate oatmeal raisin cookies. The only way I would eat an oatmeal raisin cookie as a kid was to pick out the raisins.

As I got older, I figured out that other people do eat oatmeal raisin cookies – myself included. I also discovered that there are so many other things that can go into an oatmeal cookie instead of raisins. This turned out to be a good thing since it turns out that my husband hates raisins, but really likes oatmeal cookies. (I think it took him awhile to figure this out since he also thought all oatmeal cookies had raisins.)

Since these cookies are for my husband, I made non-raisin cookies. He also prefers cookies without a lot of added chunks – but I like chunks! So I did them two ways; first, plain for the husband, and second, with white chocolate for me! These are based on a recipe from Deb at Smitten Kitchen, who adapted it from Cook’s Illustrated.

the dry stuff: flour, salt, baking soda & baking powder

IMG_3270

ground old-fashioned oats (I wanted a finer texture than whole oats)

IMG_3273

mixing the dry into the wet: butter, sugars, egg, vanilla

IMG_3275

scoops of dough waiting for the oven and sprinkled with salt

IMG_3280

out of the ovenIMG_3284

without chips

IMG_3300

and with chips! (I don’t know why this picture is smaller! I didn’t mean for it to be!)

IMG_3305

 


One response to “Oatmeal cookies 2 ways

  1. Your mom still ranks homemade oatmeal raisin cookies high on the list of favorites (hint, hint)!

Leave a Reply

