Baked Brownies

I’ve never been terribly cutting edge. I’ve always felt that I’m about 2 trends behind the rest of the world…even with brownies. This recipe is from a book that was released by a bakery in Red Hook, Brooklyn…about a year ago. It’s been all over the place, and according to Oprah, America’s Test Kitchen, and the Today show, this is the BEST BROWNIE in America. With credentials like that, why would it take me so long to make these? Good question. I have no answer to that other than pure laziness and an aversion to bandwagon-jumping, which I should really get over, because it always happens eventually. So finally, here it is…the famous Baked Brownie.

the book 

IMG_3314

the dry goods

IMG_3308
melting butter and chocolate

IMG_3311

yummmmmy

brownies 1LR

brownies 2LR

So the verdict? A very good brownie – fudgey, with a crisp exterior. Exudes yumminess. Best in America? Hard to say. Something I found a bit strange about these were the edges. Normally, I am brownie-edge girl. Love the edges and corners (in fact, have been lusting after this for years, but can’t justify spending the cash). However, on these, not so much. But the middle part is definitely very good. I don’t know what it is that made the edges kinda funky, but I think it is something I’m going to have to keep working on. 

Anybody going out to New York who wants to bring me back a sample from the real thing?

4 responses to “Baked Brownies

  1. Mmmm brownies.. but what’s so special about them? Aren’t all brownies baked?

    p.s. My brother-in-law’s mom is famous for her nihn go (Chinese rice pudding and date paste cake?) and all the parents always fight for the corners. So someone bought her that edge pan. It’s fantastic, you should invest! Or get the hubby to 🙂

  2. oops! was i not clear…the bakery where this brownie is from is called “baked”

  3. Yummy indeed! I can personally verify that claim

  4. ooh, yummy! i definitely need to try this place! if i go, i will get you a brownie and then freeze it. 🙂 (don’t know if that’ll change the consistency, but it’s worth a shot… hehe)

Leave a Reply

