Madeleines & Blondies

Hi everybody! Sorry I have been MIA for awhile – life has been a bit crazy in my little world, and it’s been difficult to sit down and blog. But never fear – the baking has not stopped! 

First up are the madeleines. This was my first attempt at making madeleines – a little strange considering how much I LOVE these cookies. But I guess part of the reason I’ve never made them is because I don’t own the requisite pans. However, now that I live with my brother-in-law, who makes these cookies on a fairly regular basis, I have access to the necessary pans! So off I went!

getting the ingredients together

IMG_3341

melted butter

IMG_3343

mixing the batter

IMG_3346

chilling in the pans

IMG_3349

a bit crispy on one side…oops! but still mighty tasty!

IMG_3352

buttery, soft cookie…mmmmm

IMG_3355

Both of these recipes are from Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours. This blondie recipe has a kinda funny story to it. A few months ago, I went to a pot luck where a friend brought a huge plate of the yummiest-looking blondies I’d seen in awhile. So of course I asked for the recipe…and I was shocked when I got home to find out that I had had the recipe in my kitchen the whole time. Silly me. I actually made this particular batch for a nurse at work who had been having a bad day, so I was rushing a bit when I made them and didn’t get a chance to take too many pictures. But here are some of the finished product:

IMG_3378

IMG_3383

IMG_3392

Leave a Reply

