Red, White & Blue cupcakes

So I think it’s pretty clear that I haven’t been terribly good at getting posts up in a timely manner lately…regular life has just been crazy lately, and I don’t really see it calming down any time soon. So just a warning to anyone who is reading this: posts might be erratic and brief in the next month or so.

I feel almost silly posting these now – we are so far past the holiday that they look like they should be marked “90% off!” and stuck in a discount bin, but I really wanted to share them with everybody because I thought they turned out pretty well and were fun to make. The story behind these isn’t too interesting: Ryan and I were invited to a picnic for the Fourth of July and I wanted something cute and theme-y to bring. I think the best part about these cupcakes is that this was the first project that Ryan really “helped” in the kitchen!

These were also very easy to make, if slightly more labor-intensive. We accomplished these by mixing up a batch of white cupcakes, splitting those into two bowls, and coloring one bowl blue. Then we did a half batch of red velvet cupcakes, and then layered the three colors into cupcake liners. Easy-peasy! 

setting up 

IMG_3395

Ryan, sifting

IMG_3401

I hope I did all my conversions right!

IMG_3409

Two bowls of white

IMG_3424

White and blue

IMG_3431

Mixing up the red

IMG_3434

Here we go…super red!

IMG_3438

Into the oven

IMG_3443

Ta-da!

IMG_3453

The layers are a little uneven, but you get the idea

IMG_3464

Ready for the party!

IMG_3460

2 responses to “Red, White & Blue cupcakes

  1. OMNOMNOM 😀

  2. so patriotic! that’s great…any new creations lately?

Leave a Reply

