Taking a breath…

Hi everyone! First, I want to apologize for being so MIA from this blog…it feels like all my time lately has been eaten up by work (both real work and working on the house), and blogging just has to take a backseat. And to be completely honest, I recently started (and finished!) the Twilight series and so life had to be put on hold while I was busy attending to that, too.

But despite my lack of blogging, it does not mean that I wasn’t baking and creating! I actually have been quite productive, so I’ll post a few pictures of what I’ve been up to…

First, I finally got around to trying my idea of mint/lime macarons. I did manage to get some pictures of the process, but they got eaten up before I had a chance to take pictures of the final product.

almonds, sugar, and mint

IMG_3486

sugar and lime zest….mmm…yummy

IMG_3510

pretty shells!

IMG_3503

lime curd for filling

IMG_3518

As I said, I wasn’t able to get any pictures of the finished lime/mint ones, but a few days later, I tried out a strawberry shell and filled those with lime curd and/or chocolate ganache. Here’s a picture of those…

IMG_3600

And then the other thing that I’ve been working on is a wedding cake for my husband’s cousin’s wedding…actually, i’ve just mostly been working on some flowers for that. What do you think?

IMG_3584

IMG_3590
IMG_3591

I hope you’ll all forgive me for my lack of posting…I am hoping that things will calm down a bit for me and I’ll be able to remember to take better pictures of the stuff I am doing. July was (is!) just a crazy month. Although August does look busy, I hope I’ll be able to make more time for this. Thanks for checking this stuff out!

3 responses to “Taking a breath…

  1. The second batch of macarons were delish 🙂 An excellent movie theater snack!

  2. um…do you do mail order… i’ll have a batch of macarons and cupcakes please..

  3. the flowers were GORGEOUS! everyone kept complimenting the cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

