Sweet Almond Cake with Lemon Curd & Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

This was an awesome new cake I tried from my awesome new book, The Sweet Melissa Baking Book, which I recently purchased from the awesome Powell’s Bookstore in Portland! Whoo-hoo! Tax free! This is another book that was written by the owner of a bakery (Sweet Melissa Patisseries) in Brooklyn, New York. Again, it is a book that has been out awhile and has gotten rave reviews – I am just really slow to jump on the bandwagon.

This cake immediately caught my eye and I knew I was going to have to try it. I mean, really, what’s not to love? Almond cake (made with browned butter!), lemon curd and lemon frosting. The original recipe is actually  for a lemon mascarpone frosting, but I was a bit lazy and didn’t feel like going out for mascarpone cheese. I also adapted the lemon curd a little bit and used my favorite lemon cream recipe from Dorie Greenspan.

Because they are much easier to share and disperse out of my kitchen, I decided to make cupcakes rather than a huge layered cake…and here they are:

IMG_3878

It’s a little difficult to see, but I filled some of them with the luscious lemon cream mentioned above. I say “some” because apparently I missed a few when my husband called me while I was working. Oops!

IMG_3894

I also topped a few of them with sugar pearls…I was told that they are surprisingly crunchy, but cute, no?

IMG_3877

One response to “Sweet Almond Cake with Lemon Curd & Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. looks yummy! here’s an almond cake you can try one of these days…so good but i don’t know if my heart can survive another one of these 🙂 ok…who am i kidding – this one’s a cake i’ll be making again!

    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/recipes/almond_cake.html

Leave a Reply

