Lemon Bars = FAIL!

IMG_3966

I’m not ready to admit defeat yet – obviously, this is something I should be able to do. I don’t know what happened, but in an attempt to use up some lemons my mom gave me, I made what were supposed to be lemon bars. When I say “lemon bars,” I mean a bar cookie with a shortbread crust  a creamy lemony-curd topping. Something akin to this:

images

but no…I ended up with this:

IMG_3964

I have no idea what happened. I used a recipe that my sister has, which she makes successfully all the time. Hers don’t have a disappearing crust or a strange spongy layer on top. 

IMG_3960

Of course, their odd appearance didn’t stop me from eating nearly half the pan. I kept cutting off more pieces hoping that it would somehow get better. They didn’t taste too bad, but they were definitely not what I had in mind when I started. Over the weekend I also made a very questionable swiss meringue buttercream. I’m worried that my baking mojo has gone bad…and this is really not a good time for that.

2 responses to “Lemon Bars = FAIL!

  1. This post was at the bottom of mine as a “possibly related”. Thought I’d share…maybe you’ve already fixed your lemon bars, but here goes. Sometimes if you don’t completely bake the crust through, when you pour your lemon liquid on top, part of the crust separates and kind of floats to the top of your lemon mixture when baking. It’s better to overbake the crust if you’re unsure of if it’s done or not. Here’s my post on Lemon Bars: http://bakerlady.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/lemon-bars/ — I share because my photo looks almost identical to what you were going for. 🙂

    • Thanks, bakerlady! Your lemon bars look beautiful…I haven’t done lemon bars in awhile because my sister insists on doing them for me. =) but thanks for your suggestions, i’ll have to give it a try. =)

Leave a Reply

