Wedding! (part 2)

Okay…so where did we leave off? That’s right, baking done and enjoying Thanksgiving dinner. That was the end of the San Francisco portion of the project. The next part was probably the most stressful part of the whole weekend – transporting everything to Sacramento. We borrowed my parents’ minivan and loaded it up with the 360 cupcakes, the 14-inch square cake, the 2 foam tiers, my KitchenAid mixer, and about 5 gallons of buttercream. Oh yes, and all of our personal things for the wedding. Once we got to Sacramento, things were a bit more relaxed for me, cake-wise. I didn’t really have much to do until the morning of the wedding, when I planned to frost all the cupcakes.

So Saturday morning, after staying up nearly all night, I got up early and started reconstituting the buttercream. With the help of my wonderful wonderful friends, we frosted and decorated the cupcakes, delivered them to the reception site, and set everything up. I don’t think things could have gone better.

That concludes my first experience baking solo (almost) for a wedding. It was exhausting, but I loved every minute of it. It was a great experience, and I’m grateful that my friends had enough confidence in me to trust me to do this for them. I also want to thank my friends who took pictures to document everything for me; my brain was somewhat overloaded and I certainly didn’t have the presence of mind to even think about taking pictures. Thanks to everyone who helped! Couldn’t have done it without you!

PS – the final shopping stats for all of this:

9 pounds of cake flour

71 eggs

84 sticks of butter

20 pounds of sugar

70 egg whites

10 cups of oil

2 quarts of buttermilk

3 pounds of carrots

3 pounds of cream cheese

One response to “Wedding! (part 2)

  1. brittney broussard

    U are wonderful at this cake making and u must make my wedding cake and all of our bday cakes! U are just great! By the way me and Princeton met u in the E.R. when he was suffering from asthma! Thanks again for being so helpful with my sick baby

Leave a Reply

