a blast from the past

I don’t know if it’s just me, or if this was the experience of every other Chinese-American kid growing up in the bay area, but layered finger jello was a staple at nearly every party I attended during the 80’s. It was always there, set on folding tables in between the aluminum trays of  chow mein and Chinatown fried chicken. And it was always the same flavors (or colors – depending on how you categorize jello): red, orange, yellow and green. My favorite way to eat it was peel apart the layers and eat them individually.

I woke up the other day with the hugest craving for rainbow finger jello (my other name for layered jello). It was just about the only thing I could think about, so how could I not make it? It took some digging around in my recipe files to find the recipe, as well as a trip to the store to make sure that I had the right colors of jello. I ended up doing only 3 layers of color since it started looking really thick, but I think the rainbow effect is still there.

So, what was your experience as a kid? Was I alone in the ubiquitous rainbow jello fad?

Leave a Reply

